As a rising senior I have gone through the grueling summer workouts for 3 years now and to some degree you never really get used to it but on the other hand with the experience come the ability to know what to expect, when to expect it and how to get through it. What I consider the worst part of the preseason preparations is the "the first 3" also known as the first three weeks of running. With this only being week 1 you might understand why I feel like there's a long road ahead of me...don't get me wrong these running workouts and fitness sessions dont magically become easy after week 3 but after about 3-4 weeks I typically have established a firm fitness base and am able to build progressively. The first three weeks are the constant realization of how truly out of shape I am and how much work I need to do. EVERYTHING becomes a constant reminder of how many more times I have to set my alarm for 6am to get up and run around a track until I puke or die. However with the age and experience comes the ability to mentally push harder and further than before, how to mentally wrap your head around the workout you are about to complete. While fitness is a great deal of physical preparation its just as big of a mental game. Well with that said, I got up and got a lift in around 9am because I had to make a trip back to greensboro to get the rest of my stuff packed. So I took today as my off day (in the beginning I usually only run 3-4 times a week). It actually worked out very well because the lift I did had a bit of cardio involved and unfortunately I am already feeling the soreness quicking in....this is NEVER a good sign when you are only 2 hours out from completing the lift. Anyways here's what I did:
15 min of as many sets as possible of:
A1) 1 Dumbbell overhead reverse lunge (8 reps each leg with 25 lbs)
A2) Dumbbell 2 arm row (8 reps with 25lbs)
B1) pushups 3 sets of 10
B2) PB single leg curl (3 sets of 10 each leg)
The lift was short because I was a little pressed for time. I am going to do some core later and probably go out and kick around a bit. Bye for now!
No comments:
Post a Comment